RSS Feed

Homemade instant hot millet cereal with vanilla and coconut

Ok, so this isn’t anything showy. Just a warm, tasty and nourishing way to start the day. I’m living by myself for the next two weeks, which is quite strange as I’m used to cooking for at least 4. In a past life, I wasn’t a particulaly healthy vegan, so if I was just cooking for one I’d just snack on whatever was lying around all day. So, I decided that at the beginning of this two weeks I’d invest some time to make some quick and healthy breakfast and lunch options that I could have on hand when I need a quick meal. Enter hot millet porridge. I made the hugest batch of this- a premix of toasted ground millet, cinnamon, cardamom, coconut, linseeds, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds. You could add dried fruits or nuts too if you liked. Then all is required to prepare it is to put 3/4 of a cup of this in a saucepan with 1 1/2 cups boiling water, 1/2 cup non dairy milk and a teaspoon of natural vanilla essence and simmer for 2 mins.. voila, instant porridge. I know instant porridge is nothing new, but its much cheaper to buy whole millet, and cooking whole millet into a porridge takes about half an hour.. so, this is my new go to quick breakfast 🙂

Coconutty, vanilla infused instant millet cereal

 

Millet cereal pre mix

1L hulled millet grain

1/2 cup coconut

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1/4cup sunflower seeds

1/8 cup linseeds

pinch of salt

1 tspn cardamom seeds, ground

1 tspn ground cinnamon

 

Method:

Roast the millet in a saucepan over a low heat. Here https://aconsciouskitchen.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/tuesday-morning-pumpkin-brownie-millet-salad-and-vege-seed-balls/ is a link from an earlier post I made on how to nicely roast millet. Once its done (about ten mins), take a cup of the cereal at a time and grind it all in a spice/ coffee grinder. You want it to be quite a fine powder. (I couldn’t get my food processor to break up the grains, maybe if you have a super processor you would be able to.) Toast the whole seeds. Now mix all ingredients together in a storage container. Add some dried fruit or nuts if desired.

To  cook, put 3/4 cup millet cereal in a saucepan with 1 1/2 cups boiling water and 1/2 cup non dairy milk (almond or soy is nice.) Add a splash of natural vanilla essence. Stir constantly as it bubbles for two mins.

Serve hot with fresh fruit, a dash more milk or soy yoghurt and a sprinkle of coconut!

About Madhava.Sangini

Hi, I'm Madhava Sangini. I'm a cook, a naturopath, a Mum, a musician and I practice Bhakti Yoga. I live in rural New Zealand with my husband and 1 year old son. I blog about Vegan/vegetarian cooking, healthy living, conscious parenting, music making, homemaking.... My interests are diverse and this blog is also quite diverse.

What do you think?

bhajam

bhakti/ souls/ hearts/ wholes

Pastry Addict

Decadent pastries made vegan

Sondi Bruner

freelance writer and holistic nutritionist

simplehealthyhomemade

Simple Life, Healthy Lifestyle, Homemade Food

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

The Vaishnava Voice

Contemporary practice of the teachings of Bhagavad-gita

An Auckland Vegan

Food and other good stuff for vegans in Auckland, New Zealand.

The Little Conch

a story of art and bhakti

