RSS Feed

Chewy carob coconut cookies.. sugar free, oil free!

Today we all moved out of the flat I’ve called home for months, and for the occasion I decided to make some cookies. Sugar free ones of course! Somehow, a sweet treat or two takes the edge off a day like this. Anyway, this move is the reason I haven’t posted in a few days… it’s been a full on week.

Date cookies- in nz we call them biscuits.. sugar free, oil free, gluten free, vegan but not taste free.

Carob, date & coconut chews

3 cups dates

1 cup carob powder

3/4 cup buckwheat flour

3/4 cup rice flour

1.5 tspn baking powder

1/2 cup soy milk

1 Tbspn vanilla essence

pinch of cinnamon

1/3 cup dessicated coconut

 

 

Method:

Soak dates in enough boiling water to cover them. Pour off water (you can use it in something else if you like) and mash dates to a smooth paste. You can use your hands for this, but a food processor/ stick blender is the easiest way and yields the best date paste.  Now add all dry ingredients, and then the soy milk!

The batter for these was quite moist- like really sticky. I had to drop spoonfulls of it onto the baking tray, I couldn’t roll it into balls. If your mixture is too solid, you should add some water. The moist batter yields chewy  cookies, otherwise they’d be like little rock cakes..!

Bake at 180 degrees Celsius for 15 mins. They’ll firm up a little more when you take them out.

Oh, and these last for ages without going off! Yay! Last time I made them I made a huge batch and we ate them for about a week, and they were still great after 7 days. Then they ran out, so I couldn’t continue the experiment!

Enjoy these healthy “treats!”

About Madhava.Sangini

Hi, I'm Madhava Sangini. I'm a cook, a naturopath, a Mum, a musician and I practice Bhakti Yoga. I live in rural New Zealand with my husband and 1 year old son. I blog about Vegan/vegetarian cooking, healthy living, conscious parenting, music making, homemaking.... My interests are diverse and this blog is also quite diverse.

What do you think?

bhajam

bhakti/ souls/ hearts/ wholes

Pastry Addict

Decadent pastries made vegan

Sondi Bruner

freelance writer and holistic nutritionist

simplehealthyhomemade

Simple Life, Healthy Lifestyle, Homemade Food

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

The Vaishnava Voice

Contemporary practice of the teachings of Bhagavad-gita

An Auckland Vegan

Food and other good stuff for vegans in Auckland, New Zealand.

The Little Conch

a story of art and bhakti

