RSS Feed

Wholemeal gluten free, yeast free, sugar free bread success

I was in a bit of a rush as I made this, and so I didn’t measure everything exactly, but the bread came out so well that I had to blog it. What set it apart from most of the gluten free breads I make was the texture- not at all crumbly, nice and soft- these achievements are very rare in my gluten free bread experiments! I will estimate what I put in, and then make it again soon to test the recipe. Its another super easy recipe and doesn’t require kneading! I suppose this bread is actually made using a cake technique, but the finished product is definitely a bread.

Image

Ingredients:

4 cups gluten free flour mix (1/3 quinoa flour, 1/3 rice flour, 1/3 buckwheat flour)

4.5 tspn baking powder

3/4 cup linseed

1/2 cup oil

1 cup soy milk

I’m not sure how much water. Somewhere between 1-2 cups, see method (sorry! :S) I used warm water.

3 tbspn egg replacer

1/2 tbspn dried sage

3/4 cup seeds (pumpkin and sunflower)

3/4 tspn salt

sesame seeds, for sprinkling

Method:

Mix the flour, baking powder, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, salt and spices together. In a seperate bowl put the linseed, egg replacer, oil and soy milk. Then, using a hand blender, whisk or food processor, whip it so it turns into a lovely thick mush. Add this mush to the flour mixture, then add as much water as needed to make the batter into cake batter consistency- it should be quite thin and easily pour.

Put the batter into two small greased bread pans and sprinkle with sesame seeds. Bake for about 45 mins at 190 degrees celcius, until the top is nice and golden, and a knife inserted into the bread comes out clean.

Because gluten free breads like this tend to be really flat and yield tiny tiny slices, what I do is cut the whole loaf in half (or thirds) horizontally, and then cut these pieces into decent sized slices. Each small loaf yielded about 6-7 decent sized slices of bread.

Eat it while it’s fresh, because it won’t keep for long!

I ate mine with coriander pesto spread for lunch about an hour ago and I am fulllllll! Its really filling.

Image

Please let me know if you try this recipe out! Have a beautiful day X

About Madhava.Sangini

Hi, I'm Madhava Sangini. I'm a cook, a naturopath, a Mum, a musician and I practice Bhakti Yoga. I live in rural New Zealand with my husband and 1 year old son. I blog about Vegan/vegetarian cooking, healthy living, conscious parenting, music making, homemaking.... My interests are diverse and this blog is also quite diverse.

2 responses »

  1. Hare Krishna Meredith, am going to try the bread reciepe but how much egg replacer?? & you’ve got 3 tblspns of hing,did you mean egg replacer??

    Reply
    • Yes I did! I will have to change that…I will do now. I didn’t add any hing either. Sorry about that! And thanks so much for letting me know. See you soon- not tomorrow though, as I’m doing the cooking class here. Maybe sunday? Haribol 🙂

      Reply

What do you think?

bhajam

bhakti/ souls/ hearts/ wholes

Pastry Addict

Decadent pastries made vegan

Sondi Bruner

freelance writer and holistic nutritionist

simplehealthyhomemade

Simple Life, Healthy Lifestyle, Homemade Food

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

The Vaishnava Voice

Contemporary practice of the teachings of Bhagavad-gita

An Auckland Vegan

Food and other good stuff for vegans in Auckland, New Zealand.

The Little Conch

a story of art and bhakti

