RSS Feed

Sometimes simple is best..

I’m having some chill time out of the city this week, staying at my friend’s house in the country, which means I’m just cooking for one for a change. It definitely takes away my desire to make really complicated food. Simple is what I need this week, which brings me to.. millet with mustard seeds, roast pumpkin, toasted seeds and tahini.

Millet with mustard seeds, paprika roast pumpkin with toasted seeds and tahini

Have I mentioned that I love millet? It’s so simple, tasty and comforting.

Ingredients:

1/3 cup various seeds, toasted (You can either do this on an oven tray or by dry roasting them in a fry pan until they go nice and brown)

1/2 cup millet, toasted

1/2 tspn salt

1/2 tbspn brown mustard seeds

6 leaves of silver beet

2 tbspn tahini

1/8 small pumpkin, roasted with 1/4 tspn hing, 1/2 tspn paprika, 1/4 tspn salt

Method:

As with my post about millet salad https://aconsciouskitchen.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/tuesday-morning-pumpkin-brownie-millet-salad-and-vege-seed-balls/, toast the millet, bring water to the boil with the salt and all the millet. In the last 5 mins, add the silverbeet, washed and chopped Cook until millet is but not mush. In a seperate pan, heat up oil and when it is nice and hot, add the mustard seeds. Put a lid over the pan- they will pop and turn from redish brown to grey. This is called a chaunce. Add the chaunced seeds to the millet, and serve straight away, as millet tends to solidify into a hard lump if you leave it too long. (If that does happen, don’t worry, you can break it up with a spoon or fingers, or add a little more water and heat it again.)

Serve the millet with the roast pumpkin, toasted seeds, and a drizzle of liquidy tahini over the pumpkin.

And there you have it.. a quick, easy dinner. Actually, now I think about it, it would have been ideal with pesto. I think pesto will be on the menu soon 😉

Have a beautiful Tuesday! X

About Madhava.Sangini

Hi, I'm Madhava Sangini. I'm a cook, a naturopath, a Mum, a musician and I practice Bhakti Yoga. I live in rural New Zealand with my husband and 1 year old son. I blog about Vegan/vegetarian cooking, healthy living, conscious parenting, music making, homemaking.... My interests are diverse and this blog is also quite diverse.

What do you think?

bhajam

bhakti/ souls/ hearts/ wholes

Pastry Addict

Decadent pastries made vegan

Sondi Bruner

freelance writer and holistic nutritionist

simplehealthyhomemade

Simple Life, Healthy Lifestyle, Homemade Food

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

The Vaishnava Voice

Contemporary practice of the teachings of Bhagavad-gita

An Auckland Vegan

Food and other good stuff for vegans in Auckland, New Zealand.

The Little Conch

a story of art and bhakti

