RSS Feed

Carob mousse, vegan meringue and strawberry couli…. this is not health food!

My first non health food post of this blog. I always put vegan meringue in the too hard basket.. it sounds like a difficult feat. But, to my surprise, this was super easy.

Vegan meringue 

I got this recipe from orgran, the company that makes “no egg” egg replacer. I always thought you needed super fancy vegan meringue mix, but apparently not! They were very nice and crunchy too. It would be ideal for the top of a vegan lemon meringue pie.. maybe that can be one of my missions tomorrow Anyway, I’ve said the word “meringue ” far too many times in this post so far, its getting a bit ridiculous, so, onto recipes. 😀

Ingredients:

90 grams “no egg”

1/2 tspn apple pectin

1 cup cold water

5ml vanilla essence

125g icing sugar

1tbspn soft brown sugar

Method:

Mix no egg and pectin, then add water. mix with a hand whipper/ kitchen mixer on high for 5 mins, or whisk it and get an arm workout in the process 😛

Then, add the sugar mix, one tablespoon at a time. Beat for another 5 mins. It will froth heaps.

I just spooned them out onto a lined  baking tray with a spoon and swirled it in a circle for a bird’s nest look.

Bake for 2 hours at 130 Degrees C. Then, turn the oven off and let them harden up for a couple of hours. They’ll go nice and crispy.

That’s that! Apart from the long oven time it really isn’t much of an ordeal is it?

Strawberry couli:

1 kg strawberries, frozen

1.5-2 cups sugar (depending on taste) or equivalent stevia (100 drops=1 cup)

3/4 cup water

Put all ingredients in a pot on the stove, and heat it all together. break up the stawbs a bit with a wooden spoon. Pour sauce over mousse and around edges of plates to fance it up a bit. 😀

Carob mousse. 

Adapted from The Joy of Vegan baking

I love making mousse. Of any variety. If it doesn’t set you can just chuck it in the freezer and call it icecream. This one did set just in the fridge though, but then an hour before I served it a friend told me how much she was craving chocolate icecream.. so, into the freezer it went to become carob mousse icecream, carob mousse’s very intimate relative. 😉

Ingredients:

Oh, this made enough for very small servings for 50. I should have mentioned that. Divide by 5 and it’d be great..

1500 grams soft silken tofu- the stuff from asian stores is great for this, and cheap. 🙂

2 cups carob powder

600grams coconut oil, or vegetable shortening made out of coconut oil

2  cups sugar depending on taste. or 1.5 cups worth of liquid stevia (100-150 drops)

2 tbspn choc essence

2 tbspn vanilla essence

2 cups soy milk

 Method:

Melt coconut oil/ shortening on stove. Mix in carob powder, choc essence, sugar.

Blend all other ingredients in blender and add carob mixture. Put in fridge to set. It’ll take at least an hour 🙂

Not really too complicated is it? Happy cooking! X

About Madhava.Sangini

Hi, I'm Madhava Sangini. I'm a cook, a naturopath, a Mum, a musician and I practice Bhakti Yoga. I live in rural New Zealand with my husband and 1 year old son. I blog about Vegan/vegetarian cooking, healthy living, conscious parenting, music making, homemaking.... My interests are diverse and this blog is also quite diverse.

3 responses »

  1. Hey Meredith, I tried the vegan crackers, they turned out not too bad I guess,yours would of been better.I’m gonna try the carob mousse but i’m having trouble getting chocolate essence,where would I get some do you know?

    Reply
    • You can get it at bulk food savings (dominion road) , I work there so its easy. In fact.. I have a spare bottle in the kitchen. I can take it to harinama for you and I’ll get another on saturday to replace that one. It cost $2.80 😀 I think the crackers needed a couple more tablespoons of flour. And a nice variation I tried is with cayenne pepper- gives it a bit of zing 🙂 See you soon!

      Reply
      • WOW………That carob mousse is amazing, came home from Harinam & made a batch,put half in freezer for ice-cream,& scoffed the other half (after offering it to Krishna), it’s absolutely delicous & unbelieveably healthy,thank-you for bringing essence to harinam,hope you got the money for it ok……pinwheel pastries here i come…………

What do you think?

bhajam

bhakti/ souls/ hearts/ wholes

Pastry Addict

Decadent pastries made vegan

Sondi Bruner

freelance writer and holistic nutritionist

simplehealthyhomemade

Simple Life, Healthy Lifestyle, Homemade Food

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

The Vaishnava Voice

Contemporary practice of the teachings of Bhagavad-gita

An Auckland Vegan

Food and other good stuff for vegans in Auckland, New Zealand.

The Little Conch

a story of art and bhakti

